Lisa Potter-Dixon’s A/W 2016 Make Up Trends

If you’ve not already heard of Lisa Potter-Dixon, she is the head Make Up and Trend Artist for Benefit Cosmetics. She’s recently released a video of the Top 10 Autumn Winter make up trends for 2016. In this post I’ll be trying out the looks myself and discussing them. I won’t be going through all 10, but picking my favourite 5 of the trends that I will think be most interesting for you.

Fat Lashes
Fat lashes is the deliberate use of clumped lashes to frame the face. This can be achieved by pinching the lashes together before the mascara dries.

wp-1475666294919.jpg

Here’s my take on the look. As a girl who lived through a very crazy spider lashes trend, flakey mascara in my school years, I just can’t get behind this one myself. I am shuddering of the memories of watching girls apply 5 thick layers of Maybelline in the school toilets. I don’t know whether it’s my technique not doing this justice, but I really don’t think I’ll be wearing this again.

However, I have seen it look incredible on other women and think this could be styled out. I put a twist on this trend a while a go on my Instagram by creating a fake chunky bottom lash, Twiggy style look.

wp-1475667743813.jpg

Graphic Liner
I have seen this all over Instagram the past few weeks and fallen in love. Graphic liner is the recreation of geometric, thick lines  to create unique, stylish liner look.

edited-empty-liner

In Lisa’s video she creates an empty winged graphic liner, however I have seen many variations of this trend, from wild to tame. Here’s my try, I kept it very low-key. I absolutely love this look, it adds a very unique twist to an otherwise generic look. I’m interested in trying a more statement graphic liner too.

The Rich Smoke
The Rich Smoke is essentially a smokey eye using bronzey and golden tones. As Lisa mentions in her video, it’s a very easy and wearable look for all skin tones.

Draping
Draping is the perfect contour technic for the girl of less time and great for beginners. This is where you use two tones of blush to exentuate the cheek bones and apples of the cheeks. Essentially you pop the darker tone in the hollows of your cheeks and then the lighter tone starting from the apple up to the top of the cheekbone.

Here’s my attempt at draping. I would say this look is very wearable and achievable for an everyday look and will be perfect for days I don’t want to sit and blend 50 shades of cream contour for half my morning. I think with this look though, you may have to be careful with what shades you use, making sure you don’t clash your finishes and undertones – otherwise it may look slightly over done. In the same picture I have also tried The Rich Smoke which I am loving. Such a glamourous, yet wearable look.

wp-1475666323372.jpg

Glitter Tears
So this isn’t something I would attempt everyday, but glitter tears could be rocked on a special occasion. It is exactly what it says on the tin – glitter used under the eye and on the cheek to create the effect that you’ve been crying tears.

Here’s my attempt. I think it looks gorgeously catwork and would love to wear it at a concert (could you imagine the glitter reflecting all the different colour stage lighting!), but again, it is very bold and takes a lot of time for an everyday look.

wp-1475667640992.jpg

So what do you all think of these trends? I would love to see your own attempts too!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lisa Potter-Dixon’s A/W 2016 Make Up Trends

Leave a comment