Beauty · Beauty Blogging Community · lifestyle

Rimmel Shades of Black Collection

The Rimmel Shades of Black Collection in collaboration with Rita Ora, has just landed in time for Halloween. The collection includes 7 gothic nail polishes and 3 vampy lip glosses. I was sent a sample the Shade of Black Collection and their Wonderfully Real of these to test, thanks to Influenster UK.

glossrimmel
L-R – Desire, Rita’s Black and Moonlight

When I first heard the lip products were glosses, I wasn’t overly excited. In short, I wasn’t expecting much in terms on pigmentation. Luckily, I was surprised. The Oh My Gloss shades punched good pigmentation and high shine. They weren’t 100% opaque, but enough to look pulled together and strong. They are very moisturising and not sticky.

 

res_1507484616750
Oh My Gloss in shade Rita’s Black
res_1507484732370
Oh My Gloss in shade Desire

The bluer shade Moonlight was a bit more patchy than the others. It looks fine, it just required a bit of extra gloss and time. It also pulled a lot more purple on my lips than blue, which was slightly disappointing, but alas, slightly more wearable.

res_1507484679502
Oh My Gloss in shade Moonlight

My nail varnish collection used to be purely Rimmel when I was younger and on a pocket money budget. Trying these new shades out took me back and reminded me of what a great formula they have. They claim to be a 60 second dry time formula, which I can vouch for.

nailsrimmel.jpg
R – L – Moonlight Ting, Darkest Desires and Matte Black

I love how these match the lip shades to bring a whole vampy look together.

blacknailrimmel
60 seconds nail polish in Matte Black

I’ve been wearing Matte Black for 4 days now and it’s only slightly chipping on the edges. My gripe with this shade is that it dried down perfect matte, but this effect does wear off. I took the above photo a day after painting and they have sheen already.

20171008-1955042961
Wonderfully Real Mascara in Extreme Black

To pull the look together I used the Wonderfully Real Mascara. I found this both lengthening and volumising without looking like too much. I found this a lot nicer along the bottom lashes, to achieve a doll look, than I did on the top lashes, where it clumped a little more.

mascararime
Wonderfully Real Mascara in Extreme Black

Overall, I think this a great affordable Halloween collection to add that Gothic vibe. For a halloween collection they are also quite wearable. I mean, I wouldn’t be whacking out the black lip for work, but I’d definitely rock it with a black jumper and jeans on my days off.

Leave a Reply

